Skip to Main Content

Student Classes & Projects: AP African American Studies

AP African American Studies - Research Resources

Use the below resource databases to find information for your research.

Visit the MIC:

MIC Hours: 7:30 AM - 2:55 PM

Visit the MIC for research assistance, independent research, browsing, or checking out books.

Want to visit the MIC? Complete the following steps:

Click here to Access Securly & sign in with Google.
Request an "Appointment Pass" for the day/period/time you wish to visit. It is important that ALL 3 parts are correct.
When it is time, come down to the MIC and use your ID card to tap in on the card tap.
Please NOTE - You may only request to come down from lunch/study hall. If you're in a graded class, you must get a pass from your teacher.

Search for Books in the MIC!

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources.

History Reference Center

Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Center is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.

EBSCO Explora

In Explora, conduct keyword searches or browse topics by category to find informational texts, primary sources, multimedia (images, videos, etc.) and more.

AP Newsroom

View the greatest events in world history with photographs, audio sound bites, video, and graphics, for over 185 years. Over 3,000 photos/images/sound bites/graphics added daily, including audio and visual snapshots of breaking news events, today's hot topics, great moments in news, sports and entertainment, celebrity portraits, and 20 million royalty-free stock images.

Gale: Power Search

Search many of the Gale e-resources available in one place! Best for experienced database users.

Academic Search Main Edition

Discover full-text scholarly content for major college courses. Designed specifically for academic institutions and college-level students, Academic Search Main Edition provides authoritative full-text and peer-reviewed journals from nearly 1,900 full-text journals and nearly 1,300 full-text peer-reviewed journals. Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and more.

Gale In Context: High School

General Database used to explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.

Gale OneFile: News

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.

Gale Literature Contemporary Authors

Discover biographical and bibliographical information on more than 160,000 of today's most influential authors.

Gale Primary Sources: The American Revolution

Gale Primary Sources: The American Revolution
This resource documents the revolution and war that created the United States Of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict

Gale Primary Sources: The Civil War

Gale Primary Sources: The Civil War
This resource documents the war that transformed America, ended slavery, and unified the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war and all its complexity – its causes and consequences and its leaders and common soldiers, the home front, and the military campground, and more.

Gale Primary Sources: Slavery in America

Gale Primary Sources: Slavery in America
This resource provides a significant account of the issue of slavery and its impact on American society and culture. It documents key aspects of the history of slavery in the United States, from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religions views on slavery, and other related topics.

Black Freedom Struggle

The Black Freedom Struggle resource features select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, it is hoped that this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom.

Ebony Magazine Archive: 1945-2014

This magazine covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.

National Geographic Virtual Library

National Geographic Virtual Library
This resource includes complete, unlimited access to the magazine main content through 2020 -- every article from every issue, each fully searchable through an intuitive interface.

Time Magazine 1923-2000

Time Magazine Archive 1923-2000
This archive presents the weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. The 4,000 issues include reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment.

U.S. News & World Report

This magazine features a broad variety of topics in current events, politics and business, and is well known for its ranked lists of businesses and institutions. With 4,900 issues included, the Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-century current events, politics and business, as well as those interested in the history of journalism, advertising and popular culture.

MyHeritage Library Edition

This multilingual family history research database includes billions of historical documents from 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes, and additional resources that span the past five centuries.