Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Projects: Crucible 1492-1620

1493-1620 Search Terms

Age of Exploration     Age of Discovery     Christopher Columbus     New World     Colonial America     Precolonial     U.S. Colonial Period     Colonialism     Spanish Colonization of the Americas     Native Americans     Religion     Colonists     European Explorers    Northern Passage     Imperialism

You can perform an advanced search to search more than one term at a time.  See or email Mrs. Smith for help: ksmith@pdsd.org.  

EBSCO Explora

Log in using the username: sun, and the password: valley2022! 

Europe Claims America

How Do I Log-in?

You are already logged-in when you are at school.  To access these resources from home or anywhere else, see below:

Destiny (library catalog): 

Log in using your Google PDSD student account.  

Databases and Encyclopedias:

World Book and JSTOR use the username: sun, and password: valley.   

Gale in Context High School, Gale Literary Sources and Gale Virtual Reference Center use the ID: sunvalley (notice there is no space).

Ebsco Explora, History Reference Center, Literary Reference Center, Science Reference Center and Ebsco Ebooks use the username: sun, and the password: valley2022!  

All of the other databases are provided through POWER Library, which allows you to sign up for a free eCard to use their eResources or you can enter your public library card number.  If you don't have a public library card, you can sign up for one to access their large collection of ebooks, audiobooks, emagazines and their databases.  Fill out this form and they'll send you a card number ASAP.

https://charlotte.delco.lib.pa.us/selfreg

See or email Mrs. Smith for help: ksmith@pdsd.org.  

Your Library Media Specialist

Profile Photo
Kerry Smith
See Mrs. Smith for help!
Contact:
Hours
7:30-2:55
Website

Search for Books, Ebooks & Audiobooks on Destiny Discover

Why do we need databases?

Links to Articles for 1492-1620

What Europeans Thought, Saw and Did (First Impressions)

Columbus, Christopher. "Excerpt from The Four Voyages of Columbus." The Hispanic-American Experience, Primary Source Media, 1999. American Journey. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ2159000227/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=af675ccd. Accessed 20 Sept. 2018.

Columbus, Christopher. "The Journal of Christopher Columbus." The Native American Experience, Primary Source Media, 1999. American Journey. Student Resources In Contexthttps://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ2156000006/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=675fb371. Accessed 20 Sept. 2018.

"Early European Attitudes toward Native American Religions." DISCovering Multicultural America: African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, Native Americans, Gale, 2003. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ2116216624/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=f137132a. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

Benson, Sonia, et al. "European Explorers of North America." UXL Encyclopedia of U.S. History, vol. 3, UXL, 2009, pp. 519-524. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3048900207/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=26f801f0. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

 

Religion in America 1492-1620 

"Religious and Economic Reasons for the Creation of the Colonies." Historic U.S. Events, Gale, 2017. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/BT2359030560/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=daba79bb. Accessed 20 Sept. 2018.

"Motives for Exploration in the 1400s and 1500s, 1419-1600." DISCovering U.S. History, Gale, 2003. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ2104240804/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=14cb27f9. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

Lippy, Charles H. "Anglo-American Religious Traditions." Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History, edited by Mary Kupiec Cayton and Peter W. Williams, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/BT2350030004/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=d3d08343. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

Botkin-Kowacki, Eva. "Old World meets New World in these colonial-era spiritual cave etchings." Christian Science Monitor, 19 July 2016. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A458780981/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=c59c8579. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

 

Relationship between Native Americans and European Explorers

"North America before 1500." Historic U.S. Events, Gale, 2017. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/BT2359030554/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=3b7f42fa. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

"The Impact of European Diseases on Native Americans." Science and Its Times, edited by Neil Schlager and Josh Lauer, vol. 3, Gale, 2001. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CV2643450265/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=087d9eca. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

"The Voyages of Christopher Columbus: European Contact with the New World and the Age of Exploration." Science and Its Times, edited by Neil Schlager and Josh Lauer, vol. 3, Gale, 2001. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CV2643450325/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=05ab7cfb. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

Botkin-Kowacki, Eva. "Old World meets New World in these colonial-era spiritual cave etchings." Christian Science Monitor, 19 July 2016. Student Resources In Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A458780981/SUIC?u=pl2901&sid=SUIC&xid=c59c8579. Accessed 21 Sept. 2018.

The Big 6

Following these steps will help you to focus and stay organized while doing your research.

1. Task Definition

  • Define your assignment & identify information needed to complete it.
  • Restate the assignment in your own words. What are you interested in learning?
  • Gather basic information about your topic by reading articles, web pages etc.
  • Talking with teachers/parents/librarians is also helpful.

2. Information Seeking Strategies

  • Make a list of all possible sources & select the best ones.
  • Choose from nonfiction, news articles, reference books, web pages, databases, ebooks and multimedia encyclopedias.

3. Location and Access

  • Locate sources & find information within the texts.
  • Consult the library catalog, library reference section, search engines, and web-based references
  • Use a graphic organizer to map out your topic and sub topics

4. Use of Information

  • Engage with your source: read, hear, view & extract the most valuable information
  • Use skimming and scanning to find information that addresses your topic.
  • Look for key words, pictures, read headlines and first & last paragraphs of articles to help find the “right” information.
  • Take notes – cite your source on your note card 
  • Summarize, paraphrase or quote.
  • Remember to cite each source you use. Use EasyBib

5. Synthesis

  • Choose the format of your project and organize your research notes according to how you will share the information.
  • If your format is a paper, begin by writing an outline.
  • If you are producing a PowerPoint or multi-media presentation, categorize your main bullet points and images. Different formats require different types of organization.
  • Present the information effectively by practicing and knowing your audience.

6. Evaluation

  • Judge the product (effectiveness). 
  • Judge the process (efficiency).
  • Did you meet your objective?
  • Judge the quality of your work.
  • Next, judge the quality of your presentation.
  • You can use criteria such as accuracy, content, creativity and legibility.

Big6: Mike Eisenberg and Bob Berkowitz. Adapted from the Copley Library Guide, http://cbury.libguides.com/research, and the Eugene Ashley Library Guide, https://ashley.nhcs.libguides.com/researchprocess.    

Purdue Owl MLA Formatting & Style Guide

Gale in Context High School

Log in using the ID: sunvalley (notice there is no space).

World Book Online

Log in using the username: sun, and the password: valley.

EBSCO History Reference Center

Log in using the username: sun, and the password: valley2022! 

Gale Power Search

Academic One File

JSTOR

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

Log in using the username: sun, and password: valley.

Developing Keywords

Search Using Keywords