Crucible Research Assignment - Soring & Johnson - Student Classes & Projects

Directions

The Crucible Group Research Assignment

Research Guidelines:

Your group will be assigned one of the six topics below that relate to the historical background of the play.
Each member of your group will be responsible for choosing one of the "talking points" beneath your topic to conduct research on, and present as their own individual slide in the group presentation.
Your task is to find at least two (2) strong, reliable sources online (LibGuide) or in print (book) that will give you seven to ten (7-10) pieces of information for your slides (at least 2) in the presentation. IMPORTANT: Make sure you are discussing your findings with your group members so that you do not repeat information.

Email Me

Designed for high school students, World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, Back in Time articles, special reports and more.

Citation Machine
Citation Machine walks you through creating a citation in three easy steps. To create a citation for a book, enter the ISBN number and Citation Machine will populate the info for you!

Topic 1: The Puritans

Topic 2: The Salem Witch Trials

Topic 3: The Red Scare & McCarthyism

Topic 4: Arthur Miller

Topic 5: Historical Figures of Salem

Topic 6: Psychology of Mass Hysteria & Modern Day Witch Hunts

Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

General Database used to explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.

Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Center is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.

JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources.

Literary Reference Center is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.