Skip to Main Content

Student Classes & Projects: Science Fair

Science Fair Research Tips

Use Credible Reference Materials: Science Reference Center, Gale in Context: High School, Gale OneFile News, Google Scholar, etc.

These are search tools that can be used to find thousands of articles, reference materials, primary sources, etc. These are on this LibGuide.

Use Keywords: Keywords are the main topic or focus of your research. Using keywords help you get the best sources most suited to your topic.

View the list posted here to see the scientific topics on which you can conduct research. This may help generate ideas!

NOTE: You may choose any topic EXCEPT Consumer Science.

Science Fair Project Categories

Science Buddies
Check out this link to get project ideas.

Search for Books in the MIC!

World Book Advanced

Designed for high school students, World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, Back in Time articles, special reports and more.

Your Librarian in the MIC

Email Me

Database Links to Get You Started. Click to Explore!

Gale In Context: High School

General Database used to explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.

Gale OneFile: News

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.

Google Scholar

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection. 220 full-text science periodicals.

Science Reference eBook Collection

Explore science from over 230 full-text eBooks! This collection of reference titles covers a wide variety of topics such as animals, biology, climate change, computing, engineering, experiments, life science, nature, oceans, physical science, and weather.

GreenFile

GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer is a general reference database covering curriculum areas such as reading, language arts, current events, science, social studies, history, health and technology.