LibGuides: Student Classes &amp; Projects: All Databases & Search Tools

Search for Books in the MIC!

Academic Search Main Edition

Discover full-text scholarly content for major college courses. Designed specifically for academic institutions and college-level students, Academic Search Main Edition provides authoritative full-text and peer-reviewed journals from nearly 1,900 full-text journals and nearly 1,300 full-text peer-reviewed journals. Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and more.

AP Newsroom

View the greatest events in world history with photographs, audio sound bites, video, and graphics, for over 185 years. Over 3,000 photos/images/sound bites/graphics added daily, including audio and visual snapshots of breaking news events, today's hot topics, great moments in news, sports and entertainment, celebrity portraits, and 20 million royalty-free stock images.

Auto Repair Source

Discover the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.

Black Freedom Struggle

The Black Freedom Struggle resource features select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, it is hoped that this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom.

CareerOneStop GetMyFuture

GetMyFuture is a one-stop resource to help anyone age 14 to 24 plan and achieve their career, education, and employment goals. This website offers easy-to-use tools, information, videos, links to resources, and more to help young adults explore career options, learn about education and training opportunities, and find a job.

Ebony Magazine Archive: 1945-2014

This magazine covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.

E-Book Collection

Search the POWER Library e-book collections in one place! This e-resource searches the e-books available in EBSCO E-Books, GALE E-Books, and ProQuest E-Book Central. These collections include over 20,000 e-books and cover a wide variety of subjects.

EBSCO eBooks

Select from over 16,000 eBooks from the world's leading publishers across all major subject areas. Perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online.

EBSCO Explora

In Explora, conduct keyword searches or browse topics by category to find informational texts, primary sources, multimedia (images, videos, etc.) and more.

EBSCOhost

Use this to search all EBSCOhost associated databases to which we subscribe.

Education Planner

This is a public service of the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA) and serves as your one-stop career and college planning website. Education Planner provides practical and easy-to-understand advice to help prepare students for the important decisions they will face in the future.

Gale: eBooks

Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.

Gale In Context: High School

General Database used to explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.

Gale in Context: Middle School

Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.

Gale OneFile: News

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.

Gale Literature Contemporary Authors

Discover biographical and bibliographical information on more than 160,000 of today's most influential authors.

Gale: Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Gale: Power Search

Search many of the Gale e-resources available in one place! Best for experienced database users.

Gale Primary Sources: The American Revolution

Gale Primary Sources: The American Revolution
This resource documents the revolution and war that created the United States Of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict

Gale Primary Sources: The Civil War

Gale Primary Sources: The Civil War
This resource documents the war that transformed America, ended slavery, and unified the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war and all its complexity – its causes and consequences and its leaders and common soldiers, the home front, and the military campground, and more.

Gale Primary Sources: Slavery in America

Gale Primary Sources: Slavery in America
This resource provides a significant account of the issue of slavery and its impact on American society and culture. It documents key aspects of the history of slavery in the United States, from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religions views on slavery, and other related topics.

GreenFile

GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

History Reference Center

Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Center is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources.

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.

MyHeritage Library Edition

This multilingual family history research database includes billions of historical documents from 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes, and additional resources that span the past five centuries.

National Geographic Virtual Library

National Geographic Virtual Library
This resource includes complete, unlimited access to the magazine main content through 2020 -- every article from every issue, each fully searchable through an intuitive interface.

Naviance

Access Naviance here to explore careers and possibilities for your future.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Occupational Outlook Handbook can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

PA Career Guide

Whether you are a student, an educator, a first-time jobseeker, a parent or a person considering a career change, you will find that the Pennsylvania Career Guide is a valuable resource as you make those all-important career decisions.

PA CareerZone

Register to use this secure web-based platform to take assessment tests, learn about occupations, and use job application tools.

PA Job Resources

Discover job resources for Pennsylvania job seekers and employers. These Pennsylvania government provided resources are designed to help you find a good career, review job openings, explore schools, and match you with employers.

PA Photos & Documents

Explore millions of digitized photographs, documents, and newspapers from Pennsylvania's rich and varied history. The collections are provided by libraries and other organizations across the Commonwealth.

PA Workforce Statistics

Use PA Workforce Statistics for timely, objective and credible workforce and economic statistics and analysis to help users make informed policy, business and career decisions that strengthen Pennsylvania’s economic security.

Resume Builder

Use this mobile-friendly tool to build your resume. The easy fill-in-the-blank process allows you to add your information (contact information, experience, education, etc.) and leads to a finished resume in PDF format that you can save or email.

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection. 220 full-text science periodicals.

Science Reference eBook Collection

Explore science from over 230 full-text eBooks! This collection of reference titles covers a wide variety of topics such as animals, biology, climate change, computing, engineering, experiments, life science, nature, oceans, physical science, and weather.

SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer is a general reference database covering curriculum areas such as reading, language arts, current events, science, social studies, history, health and technology.

SkillUp PA

SkillUp™ PA provides access to FREE online job skills training to Pennsylvanians. Courses and certification programs are available to help build your skill set and meet the needs of our workforce.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Find detailed repair guides for all types of small engines. Offers assistance in providing routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service) as well as extensive repairs such as engine and transmission disassembly. Search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type and model numbers.

Time Magazine 1923-2000

Time Magazine Archive 1923-2000
This archive presents the weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. The 4,000 issues include reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment.

Transparent Language Online

Whether you’re a true language learning beginner, dusting off your old high school Spanish, or eager to tackle your tenth language—Transparent Language Online will help you get started and stick with it.

U.S. News & World Report

This magazine features a broad variety of topics in current events, politics and business, and is well known for its ranked lists of businesses and institutions. With 4,900 issues included, the Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-century current events, politics and business, as well as those interested in the history of journalism, advertising and popular culture.

World Book Advanced

Designed for high school students, World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, Back in Time articles, special reports and more.

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

The ideal Spanish-language reference tool for those learning Spanish and ELL students. Browse features provide visual prompts, and bilingual features allow students to toggle between Spanish and English text. The site includes concise articles, videos, maps and activities more.

World Book Timelines

Dive in to history with this unique, interactive view! Timelines offers hundreds of pre-generate timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures. Users can also create their own timelines from scratch, adding events, descriptions, and media.

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania's Library Access funds administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Office of Commonwealth Libraries. The views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this website do not necessarily represent those of the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services or the Pennsylvania Department of Education.